What am I doing running?

I’m starting to realize as I progress with running that I need new challenges to train for. They provide motivation and a reason to get out sometimes when I’d rather sit in my chair watching TV. It isn’t too often that I just don’t feel like running or exercising but it happens. But the training also provides some structure around which I can plan which also helps me.

In 2011 when I ventured into running for the first time it started off as walking in the park to burn a few calories to go along with the diet. Eventually I started just jogging up the little trail hills on my loop. Then one day a gentleman that I would see regularly on the trail walking his dog asked me why I wasn’t running since I looked like I had lost a bunch of weight. I thought about it and right at that moment said that when I got to 30lbs lost I would start running the trail. And that’s just what I did.

Through most of the summer I continued to run on the trails behind the ball park and eventually began going with some other friends, on Sundays, to Kennesaw Mtn Park to hike and run a loop there. And then one day I was buying some road running shoes while with my son getting him some shoes for the school year. In October of 2011 I did my first race, the Big Pumpkin 5K, and had a wonderful time. I was hooked at that point. I ran another 5K and then decided to tackle another challenge and signed up for a 10K. After that came another 10K and very quickly a half marathon. I had never aspired to do any of those things before but apparently I am enjoying challenging myself.

In 2012 the running continued and I did another half marathon after which two friends started bugging me about doing a full marathon. Me? A full marathon? Get out of town. I had no desire to do one. Or did I? A few weeks after the half I started entertaining the idea of a full marathon and eventually signed up for the Rock’n’Roll Marathon in Savannah, GA. A good friend helped put together a training plan, I followed it, and toed the line knowing I would finish and I had a great time. Now I’m training to PR my next half marathon in a few weeks but I’m searching for more challenges.

What will they be? I don’t think I have the desire to do an ultra. But I didn’t think I’d ever do a full marathon before, either. I can’t really visualize a trail marathon but that’s another thing that sounds interesting. I think a trail half marathon is in my near future and I definitely want to do the Marine Corps Marathon. I’ve also targeted the Goofy Challenge for 2014. So we will see what happens.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

